The Awards Ceremony for the 2013 Rocket Grants recipients was held May 30, at the Just Off Broadway Theater in Kansas City, MO. The images in this slide show were taken by Lindsay Deifik and Leigh Rosser.

Raechell Smith, member of the Charlotte Street Board of Directors and the Rocket Grants Steering Committee,  and Director of the H & R Block Artspace,  presented the awards.

2013 Award recipients all gave Pecha Kucha style presentations (and performances) related to their upcoming projects. Former Award recipients Sean Starowitz (Byproduct: The Laundromat) and Eric Dobbins and Kelly John Clark (Field Trip Publishing) also gave brief presentations about their projects.

Ten artists and artist teams received either Research & Development or Full Project Awards, totaling $46,000. For full descriptions of the projects click here, or read the full press release.

With many thanks to the Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts for their ongoing, generous support for this program. The Charlotte Street Foundation and the KU Spencer Museum of Art also salute the creative and courageous artists, architects and designers who are making such a difference in our interconnected community.

Start typing and press Enter to search